‘It all adds up because every student counts’


Miss S Coffey – Head of Maths.

Miss N Johnson – Teacher of Maths, Head of Year.

Miss K Guest – Teacher of Maths, Director of Pastoral.

Mrs P Gogna  – Teacher of Maths.

Miss K Blackwood – Teacher of Maths / PSHE / Careers / Pupil Premium Lead.

Miss S Fenton – Teacher of Maths.

Miss L Secker – Teacher of Maths.

Mr J Parker – Teacher of Maths.

As a Department we are committed to raising the standard of achievement of pupils at GCSE and ensuring excellent progress is made at Key Stage 3. We have high expectations of pupils and as a result homework is set regularly and marked, in line with School Policy (using MyMaths). Disciplined, well-structured lessons provide an environment in which pupils can learn.

Key Stage 3:

Key Stage 3:

At Key Stage 3 pupils are taught in sets.  Information from primary schools and Key Stage 2 results are used to place pupils into sets and in Year 7 pupils are tested within the first week to organize them into ability sets.

The teaching in the classroom is engaging and inspiring to motivate our students to become independent learners.

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11) there are eight sets in each Year Group. Pupils continue to study the four key areas:

  • Number
  • Data Handling
  • Algebra
  • Shape, Space and Measure

The GCSE exam is now comprised of three exam papers which are all equally weighted; one non-calculator paper and two calculator papers.

We provide equal opportunity for every pupil and it is our aim as a Department to promote an interest in and enthusiasm for Mathematics that will form the foundation for lifelong learning.


  • Actively promote an interest in and enthusiasm for Maths.
  • Develop the skills which pupils need to explore and investigate Maths.
  • Develop a fuller understanding of Maths in everyday situations.
  • Prepare pupils examinations in order to achieve the best of their ability.
  • Develop an understanding as to how Maths contributes to society and the community.
  • Provide equal opportunities for every pupil.